Wrapping up the transition to the new GitBook

Apr 1, 2020

Two years after officially launching the new version of GitBook at app.gitbook.com, giving it enough time to mature and be adopted by most of our legacy users and lots of new ones, we have decided to shutdown legacy.gitbook.com on April 30th 2020.

legacy.gitbook.com has also been deprecated for one year now, meaning that no major updates have been released during this period of time.

Following our plans to focus on the new version of the product and continue our mission to make team documentation better each day, we believe that it is now time to move one and definitely embrace what we managed to build from scratch during the past two years.

Your legacy account and content

legacy.gitbook.com dashboard

After April 30th, it will no longer be possible to access your dashboard at legacy.gitbook.com, as you will be automatically redirected to app.gitbook.com.

You will be able to login to app.gitbook.com using your legacy.gitbook.com credentials that were configured on your personal account:

  • your email and password combination,

  • and/or your GitHub account,

  • and/or your Google account.

However, you still need to migrate your content manually to the new version before this date.

Public content access

Of course, we recommend our legacy users to migrate their content to the new version of GitBook, which can be achieved with a single click from their legacy.gitbook.com dashboard.

But, for convenience, all content that is currently published by our legacy users, either under their own custom domain name, or using GitBook's own .gitbooks.io domain name, will remain statically accessible.

Migrating your content

Discover the new version of GitBook

Before migrating your content to the new version of GitBook, and if you are not familiar with app.gitbook.com yet, we recommend that you first read about the main differences between the two versions.

We also invite you to navigate through our official documentation, which was itself written the latest GitBook version, to discover all that it has to offer, such as:

Of course, all the features that you loved and used on legacy.gitbook.com are still there:

Migrate your teams and content in a single click

Whether you had an organization or a single user account on legacy.gitbook.com, we can migrate all its content, including the teams and collaborators for organizations, from your legacy.gitbook.com dashboard.

Simply go to your dashboard URL: https://legacy.gitbook.com/@<username>, then click on the Upgrade now! button in the banner.

Follow the instructions, and, after finishing this process, you will be able to experiment with your imported organization, before confirming the migration definitively (you must wait 24 hours before confirming the migration).

Confirming the migration will automatically redirect all the requests to your legacy published content to its new version.